Home The Lyon family Genealogy Book Contact & info

The Lyon family

1066 - 2015

A MOST REMARKABLE FAMILY

 The History of the Lyon Family from 1066 to 2014

By Michael Hewitt

Review by Peter Warburton - Warrington, UK

I was surprised how much I enjoyed this book which has been written for a niche market, that of the Lyon family worldwide and for those who feel they have attachment to this name.  It is a book full of historical interest with plenty of graphs, family trees, maps and references.  The names of John and Thomas are obvious favourites for the Lyon male off-spring throughout the generations and it must have been a difficult task for the author to follow the family line with conflicting dates and decide from which country or county each actually originated.   I am sure that the book will fascinate members of the Lyon family throughout the world.

Why did I find this book so interesting when I am not a Lyon? Well, I think it is the way that the author has woven the history of the Scottish and English nations into the Lyon story.  The time line history lessons are bite-sized and easy to digest, with appropriate reference sources, which help to explain the tangled generations of the Lyon family. For example, my knowledge of Scottish history is poor, so the background to the lives of the Scottish Kings and Queens and the machinations that went on behind the throne, I found enthralling.   The glimpses into the many battles fought, between the Scots themselves and their tussles with the English, as they sought to establish an independent nation, makes me want to delve deeper into their past.  I was surprised by how important the village and castle of Glamis was and is to the Lyon family and to Scottish history and how the Knights Templar, fleeing from persecution in Europe, found a home in Scotland.  The author guides us through many important periods of history to the Reformation of the established church in Europe, the development of the Church of England and the Non-Conformists and the exodus of Scots to the Americas.  

I recommend this book to anyone with an interest in British history and the book will, for me, be a future reference source, especially when my grandchildren start wanting answers to their history homework!  

Peter Warburton

July 2014


5.0 out of 5 stars A Compelling Page Turner, September 28, 2014 by Valerie

A Most Remarkable Family (Paperback)

I am elated with this book, it is compelling and beautifully written with precise and easy to follow family lines. I will definitely be buying these to give to all of my Lyon Family. LOVE IT!!


Book Reviews from launch

So many search our Lyon history and find conflicting information. Mr. Hewitt has done a new excellent job researching, investigating, finding facts, and providing realistic information on the Lyon family. So many of my questions are now answered. I like the writing style because it flows so well.  Mr Hewitt brings to life the history and provides well rounded details.

I just got the book yesterday and cannot put it down. I recommend the book for all of us in the Lyon family and also to those who want to learn more about UK and US history.  Lilly Lyons  ***** rating in Amazon.com 25 June 2014

Providing facts and realistic information that explains so well is not easy. Mr. Hewitt has done a great job. A good read and am recommending the book for all the Lyon family. Well done.  -

Barnes and Noble 26-June 2014

5.0 out of 5 stars I love this book, September 6, 2014 by carolyn spradlin - A Most Remarkable Family (Paperback)

I love this book. The history is accurate and it is great to follow the Lyon family from my grandmother straight through to the nobleman who accompanied William the Conqueror. I have read and reread. I bought copies for my two sisters and me. It should prove to be a great book to pass to descendants along with other family tree information.


A must buy for anyone with an interest in the Lyon family!, 23 Dec. 2014 By Jennifer Lynan -  reviews

Verified Purchase

This review is from: A Most Remarkable Family: A History of the Lyon Family from 1066 to 2014 (Paperback)

I loved this book about my maiden family name. The research was thorough and interesting. When I picked out names I'd already highlighted on my family tree, I was so excited. I've now traced back another two generations with the help of this book and also found out more about the name generally. Brilliant and a must-buy for anyone who wants to know more about their "Lyon" family.



5.0 out of 5 stars I was not disappointed I have since bought copies for all my children, 9 Mar. 2015

By Jean Murphy - Verified Purchase

This review is from: A Most Remarkable Family: A History of the Lyon Family from 1066 to 2014 (Paperback)

As this book was about my family & included photos of many family members including my Father I couldn`t wait to buy it. I was not disappointed I have since bought copies for all my children. A must for anyone with the family name LYON


 ByValerieon September 28, 2014

Format: Paperback Verified Purchase

I am elated with this book, it is compelling and beautifully written with precise and easy to follow family lines. I will definitely be buying these to give to all of my Lyon Family. LOVE IT!!

CommentWas this review helpful to you?Yes


Great use in my genealogy research

Byavid reader U.S. "avid reader"on November 1, 2014

Format: Paperback Verified Purchase

This is so helpful in my genealogy! I appreciate the research and scholarship of Mr. Hewitt.



ByJill S. Chapmanon June 16, 2015

Format: Paperback Verified Purchase

Full of lots of information including peaks at the history of the period to put the Lyon family in perspective. Half way through the book,winding my way to those who came to America and participated in the American Revolution. Lots to take in.


What a wonderful family we have

ByPamela Hawkinson January 20, 2015

Format: Hardcover  Verified Purchase

What a wonderful family we have. Book is well written very easy understand. I love the fact that English and Scottish history is included in the genealogy of our family. I loved reading about the Knights of Templar etc.

5Five Stars


By Richard Jeffordson May 29, 2015

Format: Paperback Verified Purchase

Information I couldn't find any place else,

 

These are only a few recommendations from people who did not buy them from me of which there are many more and much correspondence.


I do not only publish good reviews: -

Top critical review

See the critical review›

3.0 out of 5 stars Interesting, but lack - evidence.

By angelpopeyeon 8 July 2015

I was hoping to find some definite evidence of the link between the Lyons who arrived in America from the 1730s onwards and the Lyon family of Glamis Castle, but there is nothing here to prove beyond doubt that there was any direct connection. It is not enough to dismiss the Middlesex line in favour of the link to Scotland with the words "I do not think it is right". I also found several obvious errors in this book - incorrect names and dates. An interesting account of the early Lyon family - but no convincing solution to the hotly disputed Scottish/American debate.

Despite several emails to answer these criticisms he finally banned me from his website.  I answered all his objections and proved him incorrect with his accusations. The book soes not deal with those who arrive in America after the 1730,s.  If it did it would have we deal with 20,000 people in my databases and the book would have thousands of pages. MH


ByTRP LYONon 1 July 2016

Format: Paperback|Verified Purchase

An excellent book and very informative whether or not you are a Lyon.

Home